PUBG Asia Invitational 2019 Preview l Esports Tournaments News

by in PUBG | Jan, 8th 2019

The PUBG Asia Invitational 2019 will be the first major PlayerUnknown’s Battleground (PUBG) tournament of 2019. This three-day long competition will start on January 10th and take place in the Cotai Arena (which has a seating capacity of 15,000 people) located in Macau, China.

Sixteen qualified teams — four from China, four from Korea, four from Southeast Asia, two from Japan and two from the Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macao region — will collide and divvy up a $500,000 prize pool. The top team

This PUBG Asia Invitational 2019 preview will take a closer look at the teams competing and provide information about the format for this tournament. There’s a lot of hype around this prominent PUBG event, and Asia’s elite teams will certainly be on top of their game knowing there is a $250,000 grand prize at stake.

PUBG Asia Invitational 2019 Preview l Tournament Information

The PUBG Asia Invitational 2019 will use the official competitive PUBG universal ruleset for 2019 — all games will either be played on Miramar or Erangel and will only be in first-person perspective (FPP) mode.

Tournament Format

  • The tournament will consist of 12 rounds. Four rounds will be played each day.
  • Each day starts with a round of Miramar, followed by three rounds of Erangel.
  • Every kill will be worth 1 point. Additional points will be awarded for placement:
1st 8
2nd 4
3rd – 4th 2
5th – 16th 0
  • The winner will be determined by overall point score.
  • The PUBG Korea League Season 2 Bluezone circle settings will be used:

Prize Pool

Each team will claim a small piece of the prize pool, with the top four teams taking the lion’s share.

  • 1st Place) $250,000
  • 2nd Place) $100,000
  • 3rd Place) $50,000
  • 4th Place) $25,000

PUBG Asia Invitational 2019 Teams Overview

PUBG Korea League Teams

1) Afreeca Freecs Fatal


  • Rozar
  • Style
  • R0wha
  • Jayden

Afreeca Freecs Fatal finished first in the regular season of the Season 2 PUBG Korean League (PKL) series.

2) OGN Entus Force


  • kAyle
  • YaKK
  • Seongjang
  • Indigo

OGN Entus Force, previously known as CJ Entus Force, finished second in the regular season of the Season 2 PKL series.

3) OP Gaming Rangers


  • suk
  • Menteul
  • EscA

Finished third in the regular season of the Season 2 PKL series.

4) Actoz Stars Red


  • Hulk
  • Starlord
  • Hwan2Da
  • Daengche

Actoz Stars Red had a poor regular season in the Season 2 PKL series (finished eighth), but they had an impressive Championship Stage run and finished on top to qualify for this tournament.

PUBG China Pro Invitational teams

5) 17 Gaming


  • shou
  • shox
  • Libro
  • 067

17 Gaming won the Season 2 PUBG China Pro Invitational (PCPI) series.

6) Super Survivor Squad


  • NB211
  • kongmu
  • Lsn
  • 61

Super Survivor Squad (SSS) finished second in the Season 2 PCPI series.

7) LinGan Esports


  • Sanjiu
  • AhaNg
  • Timon
  • DieYi

LinGan Esports finished third in the Season 2 PCPI series.

8) Luminous Stars


  • Aduo
  • Easy
  • Wnnn
  • Ydd

Luminous Stars finished fourth in the Season 2 PCPI series and is the final team to qualify from China.

PUBG Southeast Asia Championship teams

Divine Esports, winner of the 2018 JIB PUBG Southeast Asia Championship (JSAC) series, and third place Rate Me Five Stars both had to withdraw due to visa issues. They are replaced by Armory Gaming and Rex Regum Qeon.



  • YoshiMinburi
  • Bossense
  • Justmoments
  • PuuChiwz

Purple Mood Esport, from Thailand, finished second in the 2018 JSAC series.

10) Armory Gaming (replacement team)


  • GeneralGaming
  • dmggg
  • Ambulances
  • HoN_BoYa

Armory Gaming, from Thailand, finished sixth in the 2018 JSAC series.

11) Rex Regum Qeon (replacement team)


  • CoppinLee
  • Aswp
  • ma4nn

Rex Regum Qeon, from Indonesia, finished fifth in the 2018 JSAC series.

12) Aerowolf Team Seven


  • RDK (replacing underaged player “Angga”)
  • Avocrn
  • Iky
  • Roc

Aerowolf Team Seven (formerly known as “Juggernaut Fortissimus”), from Indonesia, finished fourth in the 2018 JSAC series.

PUBG Japan Series teams

13) SunSister Suicider’s


  • gabha
  • Sabrac
  • CrazySam
  • CiNVe

SunSister Suicider’s won the 2018 PUBG Japan Series.

14) Crest Gaming Xanadu


  • Rio01
  • Pureboy
  • kurad
  • Aries

Crest Gaming Xanadu finished second in the 2018 PUBG Japan Series.

PUBG MetalHogs League teams

15) Ahq Esports Club


  • K3
  • W1nner
  • Milk
  • SR

Ahq Esports Club, from Taiwan, won the Season 2 Metalhogs PUBG League series.

16) NOVA Monster Shield


  • Yuyuyu
  • Pupufish
  • An6
  • CY

Nova Monster Shield, from Taiwan, is the final team to qualify from the Metalhogs PUBG League series.

As of right now, the PUBG esports scene is relatively young, and there is no clear favorite going into this tournament, so it should make this distinguished competition that much more exciting.

PUBG Asia Invitational 2019 Preview l Additional Information

  • Fans will be able to watch the tournament on by tuning into the official PGL PUBG Twitch channel. Also, the tournament will be streamed on Youtube via the official PGL Youtube channel.
  • The English broadcasters for this tournament will be Tobias “TheNameisToby” Wiinblad and James Banks.

PUBG Asia Invitational 2019 Schedule (China Standard Time)

January 10th – January 12th, 2019

Tournament start time and the match schedule TBD


Leave a Reply