Street Fighter V Beginner’s Guide


Street Fighter V is a premium fighting video game that was developed by Capcom and Dimps and published by Capcom. It is the sixth installment of the Street Fighter series, was released on February 16, 2016, and is available on Microsoft Windows and PlayStation 4. The game was later re-released as Street Fighter V: Arcade Edition on January 16, 2018.

Street Fighter V features cross-platform play between Microsoft Windows and PlayStation 4.

The game is available for purchase from the steam marketplace, PlayStation store or at retail stores, but can also be available for free. The arcade edition is a free download if you own a copy of the original Street Fighter V. In the download, you get the new user interface, selectable v-triggers, bonus stage and season one and two downloadable characters.

Street Fighter V is a 2D fighting game, where two fighters use a variety of attacks and special abilities to knock out their opponent. The game introduces the V-Gauge. The gauge builds as the player receives attacks and adds three new techniques, v-skills, v-reversals and v-triggers. The v-skills are special attacks. The v-reversals allow players to use a section of the gauge to perform a counter move while being attacked. The v-triggers will use the entire gauge to allow the player to perform a unique ability. New to the arcade edition is the v-trigger II, a second v-trigger that is selectable on the character select screen.

The game also features the EX gauge, which builds as players land attacks and can be used to either power up special moves or perform super combos.

Starting the Game & Game Modes

The first time playing the game, you will be sent to the tutorial screen. This will show you all the basic movements in the game. Once you are out of the tutorial screen, you will be able to choose what game mode you’d like to play. There is the arcade mode, extra battle mode, team battle mode, survival mode, online ranked/casual matches, battle lounge, character story mode, versus, training, and trials.

The arcade mode is the standard mode seen in other Street Fighter titles. This allows you to play from any of the six main installments in the series with characters from that title.

The extra battle mode is a special mode where you earn rewards by clearing it within the allotted time. Rewards that you can earn are special titles, golden/silver Shadaloo Soldiers and playable characters dressed in capcom costumes. The costumes require four pieces to unlock to be fully worn. The golden or silver Shadaloo Soldiers reward players with fight money and experience. There is a fee (Fight Money) to play this mode and a limit to the number of times you can play each challenge.

The team battle mode is where characters in two teams are paired up against each other. The minimum of fighters per team is two, and the max is five. It can be selected from versus on the main menu by toggling from single to team. There are two formats that can be chosen from, Elimination and Best of Series. Elimination is where the winner stays in to fight until they lose. The Best of Series format is where the teams will compete to see who can win most of the fights. This game mode is only available offline.

The survival game mode allows you to show off your true skills. Compete for high scores and fast times by defeating CPU opponents. The mode comes in four difficult levels: easy, normal, hard and extreme. After each match, you can choose a supplement to give you an advantage in the next fight. You can restore health or raise your attack power in exchange for points. Supplements are optional. Players will be rewarded for defeating all their opponents, but points will only be awarded if you start and finish online.

Online ranked and casual matches are one of the most popular game modes in Street Fighter V. Ranked matches will pair you up with an opponent in network battles and fight to earn league points. It is possible to play up to three consecutive matches with the same opponent if you two choose to play again. League points will either increase or decrease based on results of the fight. Casual Matches are the same as ranked matches but don’t have an impact on your league points.

Battle lounge is up to eight players and can engage in network battles. Rules and settings can change from each lounge depending on the host. When there are three or more people in the lounge, all players but the two fighting can spectate the match.

Character story mode allows you to play 16 unique story lines for selected characters. Your character will change with each battle and time overs will be treated as losses.

Versus is an offline head-to-head mode that you can play with your opponent. Each person can choose their character and the stage. The two will battle in a best-of-three series.

Training and Trail are very similar modes. Training lets you choose a character and practice moves in the training arena. Trial lets you practice links and combos for each character with preset trials.


At the launch of the arcade edition, there were 28 playable characters from the original version and including season one and two DLC fighters. The fighting roster expanded to 34 with the release of the season three DLC, which featured four veteran characters and two new fighters. Each fighter in Street Fighter V has their own unique attacks and special abilities. Fighters will differ in power, health, mobility, techniques, and range.

Base Roster:

  • Birdie
  • Cammy
  • Chin-Li
  • Dhalsim
  • F.A.N.G.
  • Karin
  • Ken
  • Laura
  • M. Bison
  • Nash
  • Necalli
  • R. Mika
  • Rashid
  • Ryu
  • Vega
  • Zangief

Season One:

  • Alex
  • Balrog
  • Guile
  • Ibuki
  • Juri
  • Urien

Season Two:

  • Abigail
  • Akuma
  • Ed
  • Kolin
  • Menat
  • Zeku

Season Three:

  • Blanka
  • Cody
  • Falke
  • G
  • Sagat
  • Sakura