Fortnite Battle Royale Beginner’s Guide


Fortnite’s Battle Royale is a free-to-play battle royale game that was developed and published by Epic Games. It was released in early access on Sept. 26, 2017, and is available on Microsoft Windows, macOS, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. The game was released to iOS in 2018 and hopes to release to Android.

The objective of the game is like other battle royale games currently on the market, last man or team surviving is the winner. Players can play solo, duos or in a four-man squad.

The players begin the match by entering the battle bus. The bus will select a random trajectory to file over the map. The player will have to jump out of the bus at their preferred destination and will only start with a glider and a pickaxe.

After players reach the ground, they must scavenge buildings, surrounding areas and chests to find weapons and other items for survival. The player will also have to gain resources for building and medical supplies for healing. Players must use their pickaxe to knock down wood, stone and metal items to get resources to build.

What makes Fortnite’s battle royale stand apart from other games in the genre, is that it allows players to build structures and destruct pre-existing buildings. This adds another element to the game and gives the upper hand to people who can build quickly and navigate structures to out-smart their opponent. The higher ground tends to give you a better advantage in a gun battle. Players can also add traps to buildings to bait an opponent into triggering.

There are four different phases during a match of Fortnite’s Battle Royale. They are the Pre-game phase, Bus phase, Drop phase and the Storm phase.

The pre-game phase is the lobby of the match that the player will be playing in. The player is placed on “Spawn Island.” The matches will not begin until the lobby is full, and once full, there is a 10-second countdown and the bus honks. Then the players are loaded onto the bus and begins the bus phase.

The bus phase is when you’re flying over the playable map. The bus will choose a random pathway and flies in a straight line until it crosses the mainland. Once you choose to jump out, the drop phase is triggered. Players will skydive to their intended location and then will glide once they get close to the ground.

The final phase of the game is the storm phase. The storm phase is the what makes up the remainder of the match. The storm is a large blue transparent wall that encircles the entire map. The “storm eye” will begin to shrink, making the playable area smaller. The storm eye will continue to shrink until it consumes the entire map. Anyone caught in the storm takes damage, and the damage varies on how many times the storm as already shrunk.


Weapons can be obtained in treasure chests, supply drops, on the ground or by eliminating other players.

Players may notice in the game that the same gun may come in a different color. The colors define rarity in Fortnite’ Battle Royale. There are five levels of rarity: Gray (common), Green (uncommon), Blue (Rare), Purple (Epic) and Orange (Legendary).

Listed below are the weapons found in Fortnite’s Battle Royale:

  • Assault Rifles
    • M4
    • SCAR
    • Burst Assault Rifle
    • Scoped Assault Rifle
  • Sub-Machine Guns
    • Tactical SMG
    • Suppressed SMG
  • Minigun
  • Shotguns
    • Pump Shotgun
    • Tactical Shotgun
    • Heavy Shotgun
  • Sniper Rifles
    • Hunting Rifle
    • Bolt-Action Sniper Rifle
    • Semi-Automatic Sniper Rifle
  • Pistols
    • Revolver
    • Pistol
    • Suppressed Pistol
    • Hand Cannon
  • Explosives
    • Grenade Launcher
    • Rocket Launcher

Vaulted Weapons

The weapons listed below have been removed from the game to adjust the game balance.

    • Submachine Gun
    • Zapotron
    • Guided Missile
    • Crossbow


  • Throwables
    • Grenade
    • Clinger – Sticky grenade.
    • Remote Explosives – C4.
    • Impulse Grenade – Can be thrown to launch enemies away from the point of impact
    • Boogie Bomb – Makes all players thrown in the area to dance for five seconds.
    • Port-A-Fort – Will generate a large structure that can be used as a fort upon detonation
  • Healing
    • Apple – Heals up to five health points and takes one second to use.
    • Bandages – Heals up to 15 health points and takes four seconds to use.
    • Medkit – Heals up to 100 health points and takes 10 seconds to use.
    • Mushroom – Adds five shield and goes up to 100.
    • Small Shield Potion – Adds 25 shield upon consumption and takes two seconds to use. Can only be used up til 50 shield.
    • Shield Potion – Adds 50 shield upon consumption and takes five seconds to use.
    • Slurp Juice – Adds 25 shield and 25 health points upon consumption. Takes two seconds to use.
    • Chug Jug – Adds 100 shield and 100 health points upon consumption. Takes 15 seconds to use.
  • Other
    • Bush – A legendary item that a player can use once to hide in. The bush is destroyed if the player is damaged while wearing it, including damage from the storm. The bush can only be found in chests and supply drops.
    • Cozy Campfire – Heals allied players in a 3×3 tile area around the campfire. Runs out once its reaches its durability.
    • Damage Trap – This trap combines the function of the spike trap, wall zapper and ceiling zapper into a single trap. Can be placed on any surface that accepts traps. When the trap is placed, it will automatically swap between floors, walls and ceilings depending on the spot it was placed.
    • Launch Pad – Used to launch players into the air and use the glider to glide away from their enemies. Once the launch pad is deployed, it can be used by any player and has unlimited use.
    • Shopping Cart – Added in the version 4.3 patch. Allows you to ride around in one as a passenger or push it around. The passenger can shoot from his seat. The carts are found scattered around the world.
  • Limited Time Mode
    • Jetpack – A legendary item used in your inventory to help you fly around in the air for a while to escape or get closer to enemies.
    • Infinity Gauntlet – A special item that was found in the Battle Royale LTM Infinity Gauntlet game mode. Whomever picked up the gauntlet transformed into Thanos and acquired his abilities.


There are 20 different prominent locations that a user can choose to land at during a battle royale.

The 20 locations are:

  • Anarchy Acres
  • Dusty Divot – Formally known as Dusty Depot
  • Fatal Fields
  • Flush Factory
  • Greasy Grove
  • Haunted Hills
  • Junk Junction
  • Lonely Lodge
  • Loot Lake
  • Lucky Landing
  • Moisty Mire
  • Pleasant Park
  • Retail Row
  • Risky Reels
  • Salty Springs
  • Shifty Shafts
  • Snobby Shores
  • Tilted Towers
  • Tomato Town
  • Wailing Woods