How Does Pokemon UNITE’s Ranked System Work?

by in General | Jul, 22nd 2021

Pokemon UNITE is an amazing MOBA from TiMi Studios and Tencent, so let’s talk about its Ranked System! How good is it though? Over 200,000 people are watching Pokemon on Twitch! LIRIK had 30,000 watching him and MoistCr1tiKaL and forsen had 25,000 people watching. It’s an easy MOBA to get into but is for sure hard to master. It was very hard to tear me away from dominating people with Snorlax to write this, but I do it for you: the people. But with any online game, we have to talk about Ranked Play. We’ve already talked about how to play, so now it’s time to talk about how you get to the Pokemon Unite Ranked System!

A Grind Awaits

You can’t just jump into the ranked system in Pokemon UNITE, which is a good thing. You have to grind some matches first – You need to be Trainer Level 6. It honestly won’t take a long time. At the time of this writing, I’m Level 6, and it only took an hour or two. You also need to own five Pokemon. This does not count the free Pokemon of the week. You have to actually own them. You get them through Level-Up bonuses, you start with one, so you can get a few for free.

You may wind up spending real money on them, or grinding coins to buy them. Both systems work. Personally, I’m going to wind up spending real money, because I want to support the game, and not at all because I’m impatient. I want Gengar now, not later. Here’s another really interesting twist. You also need at least 79 Fair Play Points to play in Ranked.

Fair Play Points is a system in Pokemon UNITE to gauge how you treat people in-game. They’re trying to avoid obnoxious, toxic people. You lose Fair Play Points for quitting mid-match or idling in-game. Surrendering doesn’t hurt your Fair Play Points though. So play your matches to completion, don’t idle in base out of spite, and you’ll get there just fine.

Ranks, Classes, Cups

There are six Ranks in Pokemon UNITE’s Ranked System: Beginner, Great, Expert, Veteran, Ultra, Master. Each Rank also has a Cup which is there for the season. Each of the Ranks has a series of Classes to go through and has a Point requirement to progress. Each win gives you a point towards this:

  • Beginner: 3 Classes – 9 Points to Rank Up
  • Great: 4 Classes – 12 Points to Rank Up
  • Expert, Great, Veteran: 5 Classes – 15 Points to Rank Up
  • Master: No Classes, Just Ranking

So you’ll start in the Beginner Cup, and then work your way towards the Great Cup, et cetera. If you’ve played other online games, this will probably feel very familiar. If you’re winning more than you’re losing, you’ll climb in no time. However, you can demote for losing, so you’re going to want to take your matches seriously. Winning ranked games will give you some rewards though. Aeos Coins and XP for your Trainer Level, which isn’t bad. You also earn Aeos Energy, based on whether you’ve won or lost games in ranked.

This can be used for a raffle for other fun cosmetics or potentially in-game currency. We don’t know much more about ranked for now though. We can only assume there will be awesome end-of-season rewards like skins/cosmetics. It’s a great time to get into Pokemon UNITE though. It’s live and free to play on the Switch, so go be the best Pokemon Trainer you can be!


Leave a Reply